Location::
Hong Kong (SAR), China at HKG

Reviewed by:
Rating:
2
On May 3, 2012
Last modified:May 3, 2012

Summary:

Click the "More Details" button to book!

Hotel Name: Marriott SkyCity

iconLocation: Hong Kong (SAR), China


Outside Marriott SkyCity in Hong Kong

Nothing to see here. Drive through please.

The Room: I’m not normally one to nitpick about normal wear and tear, but my room at the Marriott SkyCity had reached just the other side of “normal”. Stains all over the obviously aged black lacquer furniture, rips in the faux-velvety blue loveseat (which only crowded the rather small room anyway) and worn linens were points off for this otherwise pretty average hotel room.

The beds are comfortable enough for western travelers looking for a softer sleep but still pretty firm. Check to be sure your linens are clean. By that I don’t mean “grab the black light”, but give them a once over. It appeared that the staff might have skipped at least one of the two in our room. It’s okay, You can say it. “Ewww”.

Service: The front desk was nice enough to take my word for it that I was a AAA member. I had forgotten that I used my membership for a lower rate and wasn’t about to fly back to NYC for the card. Room service was fast and friendly too. Cleaning crew seemed to be the only ones hiding on this visit.

Overall: It’s too close to the airport to NOT stay here if I’m in late or out early from HKG. Hotel service is great, shuttle to/from the airport is free and the restaurant’s breakfast buffet served up tasty and filling western and Asian choices. Cleanliness of the room and excessive wear and tear were my complaints this time.

Rating: 2 Hops (out of 5)

Management Response to this review from General Manager Nicholas Tse MIH
Greetings from Hong Kong SkyCity Marriott Hotel! How do you do. Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the hotel during your trip and for sharing your valuable feedback. All our customers’ feedback is taken seriously, in order for us to strive for continuous improvement.

It is heartening to hear that you have enjoyed our services and breakfast offering. However, we also note that your experience at our hotel rooms did not meet your expectations. We sincerely apologise for your experience.

With regards to the cleanliness of the room and quality of the bed linen, rest assure this problem has been addressed with our Housekeeping Team and we are happy to announce that we have invested in new bed linen in January 2012 to upkeep the brand standards and image of the Marriott Brand. The stains on our black lacquer furniture is also scheduled to be fixed.

We will continue to improve on our Service Excellence and we look forward to welcoming you back to the five-star Hong Kong SkyCity Marriott Hotel. We are confident you will regain your trust in the Marriott brand on your next visit.

Thank you once again for your kind feedback and comments.


 

 

 

Click the "More Details" button to book!
Share this: